Why do indian women have red dots on their head?

The mark is called a bindi. It's a Hindu tradition dating to the third and fourth century. The bindi is traditionally worn by women for religious purposes or to indicate that they're married. Today the bindi has become popular among women as a beauty mark. It comes in all colors, shapes and sizes.