Can i use baking soda as a substitute for baking powder?

Baking soda can be substituted for baking powder, but it requires more than just swapping one for the other. Baking soda is 3 times stronger than baking powder, so if a recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of baking powder, you'll want to use 1 teaspoon of baking soda.