What happened in y2k?

The Y2K bug was brought about by computer programmers using 2 digits for years instead of 4. The fear was when the date switched over on January 1st, 2000, computers would go from 99 (from 1999) to 00. 00 could be interpreted by the program as either the correct year, 2000, or as 1900.