What is a mercury dime?

A Mercury dime is a 90% silver 10-cent coin minted in the United States between 1916-1945.

---

The Mercury dime is a 10 cent coin struck by the United States Mint from late 1916 to 1945. Also referred to as the Winged Liberty Head dime, it gained its common name because the obverse depiction of a young Liberty, identifiable by her winged Phrygian cap, was confused with the Roman god Mercury.