What year is m. c. m. x. l.?

The year represented as Roman Numeral MCMXL is 1940. Roman Numeral M represents 1,000, C represents 100, X represents 10, and L represents 50. A smaller numeral preceding a larger is read as larger minus smaller. In this order, CM is 100 less than 1,000, or 900, similarly XL is 10 less than 50 or 40