How long does it take driftwood to get waterlogged?

Softer wood becomes waterlogged, sinks below the surface and starts to fall apart quickly. Hardwood may float on the surface or just below the surface for years. Woods such as mahogany are heavier than water and sinks to the bottom. Mahogany logs have been salvaged after years under water.