Who is erich von donegan?

Erich Anton Paul von Däniken is a Swiss author of several books which make claims about extraterrestrial influences on early human culture, including the best-selling Chariots of the Gods. He is one of the main figures responsible for popularizing the paleo-contact and ancient astronauts hypotheses.