Are rats smarter than dogs?

According to PETA, rats are highly intelligent animals that excel at learning new skills and concepts. Rats have the ability to be trained and learn a variety of tricks, just like dogs. The Rat Assistance and Teaching Society states that some rats are even more intelligent than dogs are.