What is an iron long?

I assume you mean an . . . iron lung. A negative pressure ventilator, also known as iron lung or pulmotor, is a mechanical respirator which enables a person to breathe on his or her own in a normal manner, when muscle control is lost, or the work of breathing exceeds the person's ability.