Is the movie a simple favor based on a true story?

Although it seems ripped from the headlines (the creepy disappearance of a mom, questions about the husband's character, etc...) the story is totally fiction, and based on the novel of the same name by pre-school teacher Darcey Bell, as Variety reported.