What was the vietnam war about?

The Vietnam War was officially fought between North & South Vietnam. North Vietnam was supported by the Soviet Union, China, & communist allies; South Vietnam was supported by the United States & anticommunist allies. It is considered to be a proxy war between communist & anticommunist nations.