Why is oregon called the ducks?

The Oregon Ducks are the Football team from the University of Oregon in Eugene, their bitter rivals at Oregon State University in Corvallis are named the Beavers. A game between the two is called a 'Civil War' and Oregonians are usually passionately loyal to one team or the other.