Who invented chocolate?

Chocolate is not a man-made substance so nobody invented it. Chocolate, or cacao, was discovered by ancient natives living in South America. They ground the beans and mixed them with water to make a hot drink. Then in 1847, Joseph Fry found he could make smoother chocolate by mixing in cacao butter.