Why did great britain leave the european union?

Factors including sovereignty, racism, immigration, the economy and not-seen-before anti-establishment politics, amongst various other influences. In the end, the British public voted in favour with a slim margin of 51.8% to leave the European Union in a non-legally binding referendum.