What is needing bread?

Kneading dough, K N E A D I N G, is the process of folding the bread flour for about 10 minutes. This process allows the gluten, i.e. the protein, in the flower to form strands within the dough that will allow yeast gasses to make air pockets. Without these, the bread will bake flat and hard.