What is white rum made from?

Like all rum, white rum is made from molasses or sugarcane juice, depending on its country of origin. Sugar can be added to the spirit, again depending on its country of origin. Dark rum is matured in charred oak barrels, whereas white rum is aged in stainless steel barrels.