Why do we carve pumpkins on halloween?

The tradition dates back to the Celts who carved faces on large turnips and then hollowed out the inside of the vegetable so a candle could sit within it. The light shining out through the carved faces scared away evil spirits and also showed the way to their homes for the good spirits.

---

We carve pumpkins into jack-o-lanterns to scare away evil spirits, at least that is why it started: It continues because it is fun and a great decoration.