Was jimmy carter president in nineteen seventy six?

The 1976 presidential campaign of Jimmy Carter resulted in the election of Jimmy Carter and his running mate Walter Mondale's as president and vice president of the United States, defeating incumbent Republican President Gerald Ford and his running mate Bob Dole.