What is a torque lens?

Perhaps you mean toric lens. It is a lens with different optical power and focal length in 2 orientations perpendicular to each other. 1 of the lens surfaces is shaped like a cap from a torus & the other is spherical. Such a lens behaves like a combination of a spherical lens & a cylindrical lens.