What's the difference between a w. two and a w. four?

The difference between the two tax forms is that a W-4 is an input document, and a W-2 is an output document. An employee uses a W-4 to inform the company's payroll department, how much tax to withhold from their earned income. Then, at year end, a W-2 reports year-end earnings and deductions.