Why did shepard smith resigned?

No reasons have been cited, but, Shephard Smith must have been stressed as he left in the middle of his multi-year contract which would likely cost him millions of dollars. He also agreed to abide by a noncompete clause, telling viewers, “I won’t be reporting elsewhere, at least in the near future.”