What causes a red moon?

A Red Moon, sometimes called a "Blood Moon", is caused because the earth's atmosphere has to scatter out much of the blue light leaving the remaining light to reflect onto the moon with a red glow, which appears to us if the moon was red. Same phenomenon exists with massive smog in the evenings.