How many times a year does a cat go into heat?

Female cats reach sexual maturity and can breed from about 4 months old. They will then come into heat or season every year around February to October. Female cats have many short periods roughly 2-3 weeks apart. They do not ovulate until they are mated, so this period of heat cycles can be lengthy.