Where did the term piggyback ride come from?

It started out in the sixteenth century as pick pack, carrying something on the back or shoulders. Pick is a medieval version of pitch, so it meant a load that was pitched on to a person's back for carrying. A little later, pickpack meant a ride on somebody's shoulders.