What's in sugar?

Sugar is the generic name for several sweet tasting carbohydrates comprised of hydrogen, carbon and oxygen. Examples of simple sugars include glucose and fructose. Sugar that we buy in stores are often compounds of several different sugars, which have been refined for taste and color.