What does it mean when the groundhog does not see his shadow?

If the groundhog does not see his shadow, it means a short winter, and that spring time is right around the corner.

---

As the tradition goes, if Punxsutawney Phil emerges from his burrow and does NOT see his shadow, then early spring weather is right around the corner. If he does see his shadow, there will be six more weeks of wintry weather.

---

If a groundhog does not see its shadow, it means the sun is not shining. In folklore, a ground hog not seeing its shadow indicates an early spring is expected. Storm fax almanac records indicate it has proven correct only 39% of the time.