What does it mean when the groundhog does not see his shadow?

If a groundhog does not see its shadow, it means the sun is not shining. In folklore, a ground hog not seeing its shadow indicates an early spring is expected. Storm fax almanac records indicate it has proven correct only 39% of the time.