What does it mean when a teacher has ten year?

According to A A U P.org, a tenured appointment is an indefinite appointment that can be terminated only for cause or under extraordinary circumstances, such as financial exigency and program discontinuation.

---

A teacher who has gained tenure has obtained a permanent appointment.