Why is it ten dollar bill called a sawbuck?

"Sawbuck" is a slang term for a U.S. $10 bill, derived from the similarity between the shape of a sawbuck carpentry device and the Roman numeral X (10), which formerly appeared on $10 bills. A "double sawbuck" is a twenty dollar bill.