Why is an egg roll called an egg roll?

One possible explanation is that the dough traditionally used to make the wrapper calls for eggs. ... Featured in a Chinese-American cookbook from 1917, the recipe calls for chicken, ham, sprouts, and mushrooms to be wrapped in a thin egg omelette. So, literally, an egg roll.