Why is an egg roll called an egg roll?

One possible explanation is that the dough traditionally used to make the wrapper calls for eggs. ... Featured in a Chinese-American cookbook from 1917, the recipe calls for chicken, ham, sprouts, and mushrooms to be wrapped in a thin egg omelette. So, literally, an egg roll.

---

Egg roll is a literal translation from Chinese into English. They are referred to as an egg roll because they consist of many variations of egg dough sheets stuffed and rolled with a filling.

---

One possible explanation is that the dough traditionally used to make the wrapper calls for eggs. ... Featured in a Chinese-American cookbook from 1917, the recipe calls for chicken, ham, sprouts, and mushrooms to be wrapped in a thin egg omelette. So, literally, an egg roll.

---

according to chow hound.com,Featured in a Chinese-American cookbook from 1917, the recipe calls for chicken, ham, sprouts, and mushrooms to be wrapped in a thin egg omelette. So, literally, an egg roll.

---

One possible explanation is that the dough traditionally used to make the wrapper calls for eggs. Featured in a Chinese-American cookbook from 1917, the recipe calls for chicken, ham, sprouts, and mushrooms to be wrapped in a thin egg omelette. So, literally, an egg roll.