What's an argyle sock?

Argyle is a plaid pattern that originated in Scotland and was originally used as the distinctive tartan for kilts and hosiery for a specific Scottish clan. Argyle is a popular pattern of diamond-like shapes knitted into a plaid design, commonly used in socks and sweaters, especially for men.