How tall was the tallest person in history?

The tallest man in medical history for whom there is irrefutable evidence is Robert Pershing Wadlow (born 6:30 a.m. at Alton, Illinois, USA on 22 February 1918), who when last measured on 27 June 1940, was found to be 2.72 m, that is 8 ft 11.1 inches tall

---

The tallest person in history is Robert Wadlow, who last measured 2.72m (8ft 11.1cm) in 1940.