How big is trash island?

The Great Pacific Garbage Patch is part of the 5 offshore plastic accumulation zones in the world's oceans and is located halfway between Hawaii and California. It covers an approximate surface area of 1.6 million square kilometers, an area twice the size of Texas and three times the size of France.