Is the sun one of the biggest stars?

No, the sun is a medium size star. The sun fuses hydrogen in its core into helium, a process that creates internal pressure. When it runs out of hydrogen, the force of gravity will no longer be balanced by that internal pressure, and it will collapse into a white dwarf star, about the size of earth.