How do you know if water is bad?

Water tinged with green or blue could contain elevated levels of copper Blue or green water is often a sign of The smell of rotten eggs means your water could contain hydrogen sulfide.. Water that smells like sewage or rotten eggs A metallic taste could signal the presence of excess iron or copper