What's lunar eclipse?

Luna is the Latin name of our moon, so a lunar eclipse is one where the shadow of the earth falls over the face of the moon, blocking the sunlight from hitting it & making it look dark.

---

A lunar eclipse occurs when a planet, such as earth, casts a shadow on its moon.