How much damage do minecraft polar bears do?

How much damage do minecraft polar bears do? Be careful around polar bears as they're capable of dishing out some damage. On easy mode, a polar bear adult will strike an un-armored or protected player for 3 hit points of damage, which scales to 5 on normal and a whopping 8 on hard mode