What is first degree murder?

First degree murder requires that a defendant plan and intentionally carry out the killing, whereas seconddegree murder requires that the killing either be intentional or reckless, and occur in the spur of the moment.

---

In most jurisdictions, first degree murder is defined as a premeditated murder, meaning it was planned and intentional, rather than a spontaneous act or accident.