What are the rules for magic the gathering?

During the main phase, a player may play any card from his or her hand unless that card specifies otherwise. A player can play one land card (mana) for free, and to play another card (creature, planeswalker, instant, sorcery, enchantment) a player needs to spend the mana to pay its casting cost.