When did santa start delivering presents?

The origin of Santa Claus lies with St. Nicholas of Myra, noted for an incident where he anonymously provided dowries for three sisters whose father had lost his fortune. (He was caught the third time.) This probably happened near the end of the 4th century, or early in the 5th.