How do i soften butter without melting it?

Leave it on the counter at room temperature; cut or grate into smaller pieces; place in zip top bag and immerse in lukewarm water; invert a hot glass over the butter; put into a zip top bag and bash with a rolling pin to flatten, only need to hit 4-6 times