What's the substitute for mineral spirits?

Mineral spirits is a specific type of petroleum-based compound commonly used as paint thinner. Other paint thinners you can use are turpentine, acetone, denatured alcohol, and (surprisingly) lighter fluid. Keep all of them away from heat and open flames.