What's the difference between a calorie and a k. calorie?

Calorie, with a capital "C", used on food labels, is equivalent to K calorie or Kilocalorie. So, Calorie as seen on food labels is actually the same as K calorie. A Kilocalorie is 1,000 "small" calories which are shown as calorie with a lowercase c.