How often do dogs get the bordetella vaccine?

If your dog is very social and sees other dogs frequently, (like show dogs, or kenneled animals) the vet recommends you get the Bordetella vaccine every 6-12 months. Not all dogs need the vaccine--it is more commonly given only to social or grouped dogs.