What was the boston tea party?

Dec. 13, 1773, a group of protestors from the Sons of Liberty, some disguised as Native Americans, boarded ships in Boston Harbor and threw tea belonging to the East India Company into the harbor. This was in protest to the Tea Act and the Townshend Acts. This is an iconic event in American history.