How do you husk a coconut?

Hold the coconut with a towel, firmly tap it with a meat mallet or hammer, turning as needed, until the shell starts cracking in half. Split the shell, put the coconut cut side down on a flat surface. Tap with mallet to loosen the flesh. Carefully pry the flesh from the shell with a butter knife.