How do you clean a red wine spill?

Once you notice a spill, blot up as much spilled wine as possible. Mix one tablespoon of liquid hand dishwashing detergent with two cups of cool water, and sponge the stain with the solution. Blot with an absorbent cloth until the liquid is absorbed. Then sponge with cold water and blot dry.