What is a rate in geometry?

ratio is a comparison of two numbers or measurements. rate is a special ratio in which the two terms are in different units. For example, if a 12-ounce can of corn costs 69¢, the rate is 69¢ for 12 ounces. The first term of the ratio is measured in cents; the second term in ounces