What is the animal seal?

Pinnipeds, commonly known as seals, are a widely distributed and diverse group of carnivorous, fin-footed, semiaquatic mammals in the clade Pinnipedia. A seal has a rounded body and flat legs called flippers. Seals eat fish and live in and near the sea, usually in cold parts of the world.