Where does the spice pepper come from?

Peppercorns grow on a flowering vine that can grow to over 12 feet tall with white or cream-colored blooms. It is grown in tropical regions, native to the Indian subcontinent and in Southeast Asia.

---

Peppercorns are the dried fruits of the pepper plant, a vine-type plant that produces thinly fleshed fruits with large seeds.