How many people in america have green eyes?

Fewer than one out of every 10 Americans (9%) has green eyes. Every eye color, even green, is actually some shade of brown, thanks to the melanin inside the iris. Light bounces off this melanin in different ways and creates a sort of optical illusion, allowing us to see vibrant greens and blues.